Better Late Than Never

by Elydia

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

It tastes way better than it looks!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

The dolmas were pretty darn good too.

11055503_1671699873063666_1874621591_n

A Quick Jaunt to the Farmer’s Market:

Yesterday morning, my husband and I were rushing to town to pick up some moving boxes from the local grocery store. We passed by Christmas Circle where the Borrego Springs Farmer’s Market was being held. Sadly, it was the first and last time we had ever visited the local farmer’s market. Tim quickly spotted a Baba Foods hummus stand and was immediately drawn in. He’s a big fan of hummus and will try nearly anything Mediterranean when it comes to food. As soon as we arrived at the hummus stand, two Arab men were vigorously selling their homemade hummus. There were at least five different types ranging from basil and garlic to red pepper and classic. I’m a little embarrassed to admit, but we spent about $30 at the hummus stand. The way they bartered with Tim made me chuckle. I could tell they were honing in on his eagerness to buy. They threw in a tub of tabbouleh, a stack of Greek pita bread, and garlic Parmesan pita chips. It was a difficult bargain to refuse.

Last night, I came home and made a run for the fridge to our stock pile of hummus. I went for this amazingly delicious rainbow dip. It had a green layer of basil pesto on top of the sun-dried tomato mixed with feta cheese. I dipped the garlic Parmesan into the rainbow flavors and it was heavenly. Half of it is left, but I had to hold back. It was so darn good. I am craving some now as I type this. If only we knew sooner, we would have stocked up throughout our time here in Borrego Springs. Better late than never, I guess!

The last photo is also from the local open air market. Ever since I began living in the desert of Borrego Springs, I’ve come to appreciate succulents. They’re easy to take care of, look great just about anywhere whether it be on a table, window sill or in front of your house. They are a beautiful and neutral way to decorate if you can’t decide on a flower.

Love,
Elydia

